Italo-Latin American Institute (IILA)

Suggest a page edit

The Italo-Latin American Institute (IILA) was created in the context of an international convention signed in Rome on June 1st 1966 by Italy and 20 Latin American nations (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela).
According to Article 1 of the Convention the Institute’s aims are:

  •          to develop and coordinate research and documentation regarding the problems, achievements and prospects of its Member Countries in cultural, scientific, economic, technical and social contexts;
  •          to disseminate the results of the above research and documentation among its Member Countries;
  •          to identify, also in the light of the above results, concrete possibilities for exchange, mutual assistance and common or concerted action in the above mentioned sectors.