The African Union (AU) was officially launched in July 2002 in Durban, South Africa, following a decision in September 1999 by its predecessor, the Organization of African Unity (OAU) which was formed in 1963, to create a new continental organization to build on its work. A total number of 54 countries joined the new organization, whose headquarters remained in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.